Milly Tunic – Part III

I didn’t get a lot done today – Daylight Savings Time is really kicking my butt! But, I did manage to finish the neckline facing, attach the neckline ties and set the eyelets.

First, I marked the seamline and the topstitching line on the lower bodice. You can barely see the lines because I used white chalk. I marked the eyelet placement with the pink pencil.

markings

Next, I fused a strip of interfacing (Palmer/Pletsch Sheer) over the eyelet placement dots before punching the holes.

interfacing

Here, the eyelets have been set. These are your regular garden-variety Dritz eyelets that come in a bulk pack of assorted colors. They are cheap, readily available and I’ve had no problems with the paint chipping off. I will have to use a zipper foot to stitch both the seam and the topstitching as it’s pretty tight on both sides.

eyelets

A tool I could not live without: the Prym Vario Plus plier kit. I bought this ages ago from Birch Street Clothing and love it so much that I had a friend pick me up a spare when she was in Germany. I think I paid $49.95 for it around 18 years ago – they really haven’t gone up much in price since. I use it for eyelets, anorak snaps and Color Snaps. As you can see, it’s not looking real neat and tidy but after all these years I know which pieces I need even if they’re not in their special spot.

varioplus

9 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Fabric, Notions

9 responses to “Milly Tunic – Part III

  1. Okay, that must be payback for my textbook. I just ordered the snap set from Atlanta Thread. Thanks!

  2. LisaB

    Gigi, your tunic is looking good. It’s nice to have you blogging again.

    I got my snap kit last year from Cleaner’s Supply. I get lots of stuff from them. Their prices are cheaper, and their shipping charges are downright fantastic. Service has been great, too. http://www2.cleanersupply.com/products/product.cfm?pID=2389

    NAYY – I just love them and want them to stay in business! I can see a lot of people wanting these snap kits. :-)

  3. I have one of those snap sets too! It’s pricy but worth it if you do snaps and eyelets. Does the kit still come with a starter supply of snaps, etc?

    Is there a reason that you chose to sew the seam after setting the eyelets? My inclination would have been the other way round.

  4. I have this snap set also. My grommets tend to pop out–I need some instruction. Anxious to see your finished garment.

  5. Jeannie W.

    Gigi, So glad you’re blogging again! I love this tunic and the fabric is gorgeous! I’ll be looking for it when I go to NYC next month. When you say it’s from Metro–I’m assuming you mean Metro Textiles–Kashi?? I know it’s all probably gone by now, but I’m sure I’ll find some other treasure. Can’t wait to see the finished product :)

  6. Love the way you work your prints!

    I have one of the older snap setting tools that came with all the changeable pieces. Very confusing which pieces to use with each of the different fasteners. This looks much more user-friendly.

  7. Diane

    Your top is going to be beautiful! (no surprise). Gigi, could you please tell me what ITY Jersey is? What does the ITY stand for. Thanks! Diane in Michigan
    dlrodgers@hotmail.com

  8. Diane, I have no idea what ITY stands for! Anyone? But it is a soft polyester jersey made from twisted yarns – it’s seen a lot in RTW.

  9. Tee

    Girl, I’m feeling you on the day light savings time…I felt like I had taken Benadryl on Mon and Tuesday!