Milly Tunic – Part II

I’ve stitched the darts in the back and in the bodice. The front edges have been finished and the facing is on. I decided on a narrow facing instead of a bias binding since I didn’t have a lot of scraps left.

tunic1

The bias strips for the ties have been cut and are ready to be pieced and sewn. I had hoped to use the border for the ties but there wasn’t enough (the fabric only had a border on one side) which is fine since bias ties hang better anyway.

bias

I should have this finished in the next day or two. I can’t wait to wear it! As I said in a previous post, I wished I’d had several of these last summer. So, I have already picked out fabric for my next version. This is a crinkled silk chiffon that I bought at Kashi’s 3 or 4 years ago. It’s really beautiful and I am happy to have finally found the perfect pattern for it.

silkchiffon

6 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Fabric

6 responses to “Milly Tunic – Part II

  1. That is going to be Gowachuss!

  2. mmm, that is pretty fabric! I look forward to seeing the completed project!

  3. Lookin’ good…the finished garment will be fabulous!

    ..and that silk is TDF…

  4. Hi I just found your blog. I love to see what fellow seamstresses are creating. I saw your pic of the hem in your knit top on Feb 28th. Your serging is beautiful. What kind of machine do you have? Good luck finishing that gorgeous tunic.

  5. Hi Maripat! I have an industrial Juki 3600-series 4-thread overlock. You are right, it makes an absolutely beautiful stitch. I have never made a single adjustment to it since I bought it about 5 years ago.

  6. Carolanne

    Love, love, love the tunic! It is beautiful and would love to see what it looks like on!