Did I do that?

I’m trying hard to MAKE TIME to fit sewing back into my life and get my sewing mojo back. So, this afternoon I thought it would be great to cut out a TNT pattern (Jalie 2449) and whip up a top to wear to dinner tonight. I even went the extra mile and modified the sleeve a bit. Everything went well, I was having a ball, watching a chick flick (Steel Magnolias!), drinking a Corona Light, sewing away. A Perfect Day! Then I saw IT:

j2449

I am ALWAYS very careful about print placement – ALWAYS. I don’t what the heck happened but I seem to have an island right on my boob. I am obviously horribly out of practice. But, I. Will. Soldier. On. I will cut out another top tomorrow so that I may end the weekend on a good note. :-) Luckily, my friends buy RTW so they won’t even notice this horrible mistake. I can’t even blame the Corona since I’d cut the top out before I started on those…

Here is a closeup of the gathered sleeve that I shamelessy copied from a Roberto Cavalli top:

sleevedetail

I always like to finish off my cord ends with a little extra something.

beads

Fiddle dee dee, tomorrow is another day…

32 Comments

Filed under Jalie Patterns

32 responses to “Did I do that?

  1. Been there, done that, own the shirt. Well actually, Goodwill owns the shirt. But it’s great to see you sewing again!

  2. Glad you’re back. I totally enjoy your sewing blog.

    CarlaF-in Atlanta

  3. Uh, blame the corona? How does the top look on You, not the dress form? You might still be able to wear it. After all, you Did have fun making it!

  4. I’m glad you’re back too!!!

  5. Gwen

    The thing about seamstresses is–we notice every little flaw. Other people really don’t.

  6. Nobody’s even gonna notice. Cute top!

  7. Well heck, the top looks great….no one will ever notice.

    …on my figure anything that “enhances” my bust is a plus, LOL!

    Love your designer details…really…a lovely top!

  8. I think it looks great!

  9. Diane

    Well, as Dolly Pardon and Kenny Rogers sang:….Islands in the stream…. Your top is adorable, which is no surprise. Glad you’re fitting sewing and blogging back into your schedule. Selfishly, WE are all glad you are. WELCOME BACK!
    Diane in Michgian

  10. I was thrilled to see you posted a new sewing project on your blog. You have been missed. Great looking top and love your comment about the island on boob and RTW. So true!

  11. I really don’t think anyone will notice. Love the print, and the sleeve detail!

  12. Meredith P

    Hey, it’s only *one* island on *one* boob. No one will notice! Glad you’re back.

  13. Sally

    SO glad to see a new post from you and that you’ve gotten your sewing mojo back. Too bad about the top but it’s lovely anyway, as usual. Hope to see more posts from you. Sally

  14. I also made that top yesterday. I love your sleeve detail.

  15. Glad to see you sewing. I don’t think most other people will notice. I like the detail at the end of the tie. Great idea.

  16. cidell

    LOL. Fiddle dee dee indeed! I didn’t notice. I knew what I should be looking for, but it didn’t stand out to me.

  17. Summerset

    Love the top. If any one notices, they are staring too hard at your boobs.

  18. Linda T

    Glad to see you back!

    Love the top and no one will notice.

  19. Karla

    I’m glad to see you reporting on a project, because I always worry when I imagine that you aren’t sewing. It’s really a pretty top, and it reminds me of the prints and colors of all the Tommy Bahama stuff I saw in touristy boutiques in Punta Gorda this weekend. The only people who will react negatively to your print placement are those who are jealous. Assume that others are admiring your cleavage, and wear that top with pride and your best-fitting bra.

  20. And what is wrong with an island on your breast? You would have had to have something there – writing, a tree, something (just blank fabric may have been more of a “look at me”) . I think it looks perfect as it is! Love, love it :))

  21. Stephanie

    Hey, those sleeves look wonderful especially with the beading. Being a knit you never know where that island may end up and it may be not so obvious as you fear- the fabric anyhow is so busy that only dressmaking police would ever worry and life’s too fun to worry about what they might think! Love it.

  22. Gee, I’d leave it, personally. It looks very RTW as is.

  23. So that’s what I’m missing… an island on my boob! Why didn’t I think of that!?!

    Nothing makes the boobs look more enhanced than a strategically placed island….LOL

    Top looks fabulous!

  24. Susannah

    So glad you’re posting. The island looks great…

  25. Islands in the Stream…or i mean, on the Breast. What is wrong with that? But seriously, your top looks great. No need to recut.

  26. i had to really look to see what could possible be wrong? LOL i’m so SB’ed that i guess i would have never thought about that! but glad to see you posting, i have always been such a lurker and admirer of your work, i’m just glad to see your back!

  27. Rosemary

    So glad you are back. Just love your design and fabric choices. WE are all humn
    cheers,
    Rosemary Australia

  28. Olivia

    Luv the sleeve detail! The print is sort of muted so the island on the boob thing isn’t that noticeable. What I hate are big flowers on my boobs!!

  29. Andrea

    So glad you are back. I love seeing your creations. They inspire me. Personally, I don’t think the island on the boob stands out and calls attention to it. Hope to see more …creations that is. :-)

  30. I don’t see anything wrong with one island – it isn’t really noticeable. Now if there were two matching islands… It’s a pretty top, and I love the sleeves

  31. More beads! I think three on each tie would be cool. Fire Mountain Bead & Gem has them in tons of colors. I never even noticed the pattern placement.

  32. Oh, Phyllis, you are such an enabler! I did notice that my bead stash was looking a little low…