Congratulations, Honey!

sta

finalscore

Hi everyone! I’m just coming up for air to congratulate my honey and my alma mater on winning the Class 5A State Championship at the Citrus Bowl last night! Not only did they beat the Lakeland Dreadnaughts 56-7 but are also ranked No. 1 in the National Prep Poll, ESPN and USA Today’s rankings. The St. Thomas Aquinas Raiders are the first Broward county team to be the consensus national champions after beating Lakeland, which was ranked as high as No. 6 in the nation. Lakeland has a great team (we were both 14-0 for the season) so the anticipation was sometimes too much to bear! I know Bryan is just relieved that it’s over! Here’s my honey calling the plays from the coaches’ booth:

honeypressbox

I started work extra-early yesterday so that I could head to Orlando around 1:00 p.m. We had a great turnout and it was a lot of fun to see so many of my old classmates at the game. Amazingly, there were nearly 10,000 in attendance – for a high school game! After the game was over, we turned right around and drove back home so I am pretty pooped today! I think I will treat myself by spending the entire day in my sewing room working on Christmas gifts. :-)

11 Comments

Filed under This and that

11 responses to “Congratulations, Honey!

  1. Sally

    Well, congratulations to your honey and the team! And hoping to see some of the results of your sewing day. Sally

  2. Ah, we’re from Lakeland and so weren’t quite as happy with the outcome… But I’m glad that you had a good time and had something to celebrate! :)

  3. Mary

    Contrats! My honey officiates football, and was the referee for the 3A state champ game a couple years back. We call them “Dome” games since they are played in the Superdome.
    He’ll never get to officiate my alma mater in a playoff or championship game though, as they have to choose officials from a different area of the state for that. It is fun getting into the excitement of High School football again though. Your honey must be quite a coach!!

  4. Katharine in Brussels

    How did those Christmas gifts turn out?

  5. Cosima

    Great. My little town (and my alma mater) won the state 4A title in the Alamo bowl last month. First time!!

  6. Cosima

    Woops! I should have said Alamo Dome.

  7. Congratulations!!! Love the picture. And I hope you don’t mind, but I nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger award. You are awesome, m’dear!

    Mmmmwah!

  8. meg

    Love checking your blog and the sewing projects. I nominated you for an award. Check it out at my blog. cheers

  9. I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award (see my blog)!

  10. Diane

    Arent’ you posting anymore? I will be disappointed if you have given it up. Miss seeing your beautiful work.

  11. Would you please contact me directly? I would like to ask you a question about a sewing machine model. Thanks for your time.