Dresses!

I’ve made four new dresses in the past few weeks – three of them with fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics! You’ve already seen the Kimono Dress I made last month, here are a couple of work dresses from New Look 6429. I had originally made this pattern a few years back when it was first released. I don’t know why I waited so long to make it again – it’s a real gem. This is quickly becoming a favorite for work because I don’t have to fuss with it at all, just toss it on and go. I’ve made three short-sleeved/collared versions so far this month and am planning on one long-sleeved version before I give it a rest. If you haven’t tried this pattern yet, what are you waiting for? The cut is sublime and it goes together in a snap.

nl6429diamondfront

This print was a bit of a challenge to match but I’m happy with how it turned out.

nl6429diamondback

I used the border for the collar, cuffs and neckline binding (which you can’t see here).

nl6429diamonddetail

No matching here, this one went together in a few hours.

nl6429brownfront

I used Palmer/Pletsch Sheer to interface the collars on both dresses.

nl6429browndetail

I also made another version of New Look 6648 (fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics, of course!). I absolutely adore the sleeves on this version. And, yes, it is positively x-rated without a cami underneath. ;-) I did discover that this is just perfect over a bikini when you want to cover up just a bit – much better than a big baggy t-shirt.

nl6648

nl6648b

25 Comments

Filed under Fabric, New Look

25 responses to “Dresses!

  1. I love how you used the border print on the one dress for the collar. Really great. I’m going to stock up on Palmer Pletsch Sheer too.

  2. Simply fantastic. Great fabrics, too ;-)

  3. Summerset

    Fabulous – I really love that fabric of that top!

  4. I had to look the pattern up because your finished dresses look so much better than the pattern! Love them!

  5. Jen

    I just HAPPILY stumbled upon your blog and would love to contact you but can’t find a contact place around anywhere?? I am in the midst of posting a LOT of the 70s patterns you seem to love and when I’m researching them, you keep popping up! :D

    Very nice to meet you, please feel free to email me if you are looking for any particular pattern.. I’d LOVE to have a link on your blog somewhere!

    xox
    Jen of MOMSPatterns

  6. They are GORGEOUS! The first one really took my breath away!

  7. Gorgeous dresses! I love the way you use the prints on the fabrics.

  8. Olivia

    I love the way you used that print on that top!! I’m glad to see you posting again!! So inspirational!! :)

  9. Linda T

    It is so great when one finds a pattern that can be made over and over again. I think I have found one of those patterns recently. It is Simplicity 2840. I have made one dress already and have a jumper on the cutting board. I have plans for a top and another dress.

    You give me inspiration with your use of fabrics. Keep it up, please!

  10. Love the New Look dress. I have been looking at this for a while. I wondered if it would need full bust adjustment for a D cup, if so, any ideas where I can find instructions please.

  11. Wow, those are really gorgeous! It’s good to have you back and congrats for your BF’s team!

  12. Thank you all for your compliments! It’s good to be sewing again, even for snippets of time. :-)

    Angela, I am a D cup and did not need a full-bust adjustment (FBA) in this dress. However, the FBA for this style would be the same as for any princess-style garment as shown in my fit bible Fit For Real People.

  13. Rosemary from Australia

    So happy you have returned. I have been checking your site for weeks. We all missed you beautiful creations.
    cheers,
    Rosemary

  14. Kim

    This pattern has been sitting on my counter to be made. It will be my next project. I too just got some great fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics that will be perfect for it. Great dresses! Just curious but do you think this pattern could be made up in a wool jersey or sweater knit? It’s getting cold here!

  15. Kim, I think it’d be awesome in a wool jersey! A sweater knit would work as long as it’s lightweight and drapey.

  16. Great Dresses!! I am glad to see that you are back

  17. Oh, I love both dresses and the top!

  18. That top is gorgeous, love how your have such a great eye for using fabric prints–it’s a gift!!!

  19. I can’t say which one is my favorite, because all of them are beautiful.

  20. Gigi – my daughter Abby loved them all! And I do too.

  21. Gigi – did you use the facings provided by the pattern, when you made the New Look dress? Or did you bind / finish the edges in some other manner?

  22. Oh, I love your version of the NL dress. I’ve made this one three times so far. I agree, it is the perfect knit dress to toss on for a work – professional yet stylish and comfy. Beautiful prints by the way.