Yes, I’m still alive!

Wow, I’m really honored that some of you have missed my posts! Everything is fine, I have just been working very long hours and have had precious little free time the past two months. I’m finally making friends with my new schedule (after much arranging and rearranging) and have been able to actually spend a little time (only a few hours a week but it’s better than nothing) in the sewing room.

A few weeks ago, The Boyfriend (geez, that sounds so juvenile but I don’t know what else to call him!) and I took some much-needed time off and drove up to Dunnellon to visit his parents. Although we were only there about 36 hours it was nice to get a break from the usual routine.

Bryan’s parents have a pontoon boat so we took a leisurely cruise down the Rainbow and Withlacoochee Rivers. This is the Florida I always imagined from Walter Farley’s The Black Stallion’s Ghost - breathtaking and spooky at the same time. Unfortunately, we only saw one small alligator and I wasn’t quick enough with the camera to capture him. But I did manage to snap a few sunbathing turtles.

river1

cypress

captainbryan

turtle

Unfortunately, I didn’t spot a single manatee.

manatee

It was also nice to have a few nights off from cooking! Ack, I am seriously hating my hair here after having it cut by someone new just before the trip. The hunt for a new hairdresser continues…

wings

carrabbas

I promise I’ll get a few sewing pics up next week. I haven’t made anything terribly exciting, just a few work dresses and a top. I’m anxious to get the obligatory sewing finished so I can start on my Prada lace jacket – Ann found the most beautiful lace for me at Kashi’s – and my Burberry raincoat (or jacket, haven’t really decided yet).

Before I go I want to congratulate The Boyfriend’s team on being ranked #1 in the nation! St. Thomas Aquinas’ game vs. Deerfield Beach will be nationally televised Friday night on CBSC. If my family’s watching look for me on the sidelines!

9 Comments

Filed under This and that

9 responses to “Yes, I’m still alive!

  1. Jodi

    Glad to hear from you, Gigi. And glad to hear that things are well. Can’t wait to see what you’ve been sewing – even if you think it isn’t exciting. :)

    Jodi

  2. Linda T

    It is good to hear from you again. I thought maybe Florida had seceded from the Union before hanging chads become an issue again.

    I always loved turtles so I love that picture. Looks like a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. Just as I imagine Florida rivers to look.

  3. cidell

    For the first four months I couldn’t bring myself to say boyfriend. I usually went old school and said ‘gentlemen caller’ or ‘gentlemen friend’. In jest, yes. ‘The cop’ works for the blog. Someone beat me to ‘the boyfriend’.

  4. You look gorgeous! Love the dresses on you. BF is pretty darned cute, too!

  5. I’ve never before seen/heard anyone reference The Black Stallion’s Ghost! That’s too cool! And you’re right – the pictures totally look like I would imagine from the book.

  6. Hey Gigi- glad to see you around. Isn’t finding a label for a significant other difficult? I call my husband “My Mike” (as opposed to someone elses Mike??!) My daughters all have various labels for their boyfriends on their blog. Mr X, Studly, etc!

  7. Cindy

    Hey Gigi! Glad you’re back. You are looking so beautiful!

  8. OP Gal

    Glad you’re back. You look beautiful, BTW. As to the “boyfriend” problem, how about my friend Bob, Bruce, Stan, whatever his name is? I always think that boyfriend, gentleman friend thing is awkward, too.

  9. You look so gorgeous, young and glowing in these pictures!! “Boyfriend” sounds like a fun guy, so I’m so happy for you. BTW, I saw the same fabric of your dress on Private Practice this week, on the psychiatrist character.