Kimono Dress: Sneak Peek

Due to the weather being so bad I didn’t go to work today and spent the entire day in my sewing room instead! I’m finally getting the Kimono Dress put together so I thought I’d give you a sneak peek:

kimono

Here’s a closeup of the two fabrics I’m using:

kimono2

Hopefully I’ll get this done before Saturday so that I can start a new project this weekend.

We were very lucky with TS Fay – just a ton of rain and high winds. I hope everyone else fared as well!

Oh, and if you are wondering, the purse pattern is still AWOL (I should put my jewelry in such a “safe” place, lol). I am starting again from scratch, sigh. But then I suppose there’s no such thing as too much pattern drafting practice…

13 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

13 responses to “Kimono Dress: Sneak Peek

  1. Gigi – where did you get that fabric and do they have any more? I just love the choices you make with your fabrics.

  2. I am loving what I’m seeing so far!

  3. Love it! I’m glad you are safe and sound in your sewingroom.

  4. Love those two fabrics together! Yum!

  5. elizabethe

    I’m so excited to see this finished. I can’t wait. The fabrics are great.

  6. I love the two fabrics. Certainly makes for an interesting and eyecatching dress.

  7. Love…love…love the color!

  8. I love these two fabrics. The colors are perfect and the prints just the right size. This is gorgeous. I’m envious.

    I’m happy to hear you survived the storms and that even though you still had rain and winds but that you also still had electricity. That’s the way to do it.

  9. I really like the style of the dress – which pattern did you use and is it a jersey fabric?
    Enjoy yor blog so thank you

  10. Karla

    8-30-08 Not that I mean to nag or anything (much), but do we have a finished kimono dress yet?

  11. Valerie

    HI – I am making a cape (for a costume) and want it to have a high collar (think the wicked queen in snow-white or magician), could you suggest what I could line it with to make and keep the shape? Thanks – Valerie

  12. Judy Crow

    The Kimono dress is beautiful. Where did you find the fabric and what pattern did you use?

    Judy October 24, 2008