Button magnets

I’m not into crafts (rather be sewing!) but today I made magnets out of vintage Patrick Kelly buttons! You see, I bought a magnetic bulletin board at my friend Bonnie’s garage sale last year. I finally hung it next to my desk a couple of weeks ago but had no magnets for it. I was going to make these great magnets from Not Martha but they were just too involved for me. Then I came across a bag of these buttons that I’d purchased on Ebay a couple of years ago and voila! in less than 5 minutes I had some cute sewing-themed magnets. You can buy magnetic discs at Michael’s. I used the 1/2″ ones and some E-6000 glue to attach the buttons.

magnets

If you want to hang cards or larger photos I’d recommend the 3/4″ discs as they are stronger than the 1/2″ ones.

6 Comments

Filed under This and that

6 responses to “Button magnets

  1. Karla

    I love them! And I could use up some of the cute buttons I never got around to using on little kids’ clothes. Great idea.

  2. Now this is kewl! Love this!

  3. What a great idea! I could use these on my white board in my classroom! You Rock!

  4. rosemary

    I have been looking at a website called”bluegardenia.com. It has vintage patterns.
    You may already know about it but I thought I’d let you know.cheers,

  5. Katharine in Brussels

    Adorable! You’re so creative. The perfect magnets for a sewing room. Sounds like it will carry sketches of future projects? ALso, would having a notebook by the bedside table work? I hear authors do that to capture their midnight inspirations and get back to sleep.

  6. sewiknittoo

    These magnets are too cute, I will have to make some for sure