Summer is breathing down my neck…

As much as I love cold weather, winter in Florida is heavenly. The sun is shining and the air is balmy so we are able to enjoy dining al fresco or strolling Las Olas Blvd. without requiring yet another shower. Then it happens: you leave your house at 6 a.m. and it is already 82F degrees out. By 10 a.m. it is in the 90s. The only thing making it bearable is the fact that the humidity is very low right now because we haven’t had rain in months. If it ever starts raining again you can add 99% humidity to your day. Ick.

Yes, we are feeling the daily changes so we’ve been trying to take advantage of the last few days of pleasant weather. Sunday before last, boyfriend and I went to the zoo and last Sunday we enjoyed cocktails at the marina. Soon, the weather will be too unbearable for me to enjoy sitting/being outside so I will be enjoying my nice, air conditioned sewing room instead!

pelican

3 Comments

Filed under This and that

3 responses to “Summer is breathing down my neck…

  1. Karla

    As long as “unbearable” doesn’t include cyclonic wind activity and downed power lines, I’ll limit my annual whining…but I hear ya!

  2. Gigi, I’ll swap you the current Florida weather for
    the 110 we had Monday. Summer has arrived in Phoenix.
    It’s time to hibernate.

  3. You know, I think FL in the summer is just like winter here in MA, and just as uncomfortable. I’ll never forget my first trip to Miami in August – I walked out of the terminal and felt the humidity smack me in face; it felt like a mattress fell on me. It was the polar opposite of walking outside in downtown Boston in February – but just as brutal.

    At least when it’s really cold my hair still looks good. Can’t say that for humid weather!