On deck: Butterick 5206

I am loving this new Butterick pattern! At first glance it looks very similar to my beloved Hot Patterns Cosmopolitan Dress (that I never get tired of wearing and making!) but it’s a little different. You see, there is no inset at the waist, just a normal waistline seam. The obi-style belt is attached at the top front only. The only bad thing is that I won’t be able to use my coverstitch for all of the binding as the wrong side won’t be as pretty if it shows on the belt.

butt5206

Now I’m just trying to narrow down the fabric choices…

6 Comments

Filed under Butterick, Hot Patterns

6 responses to “On deck: Butterick 5206

  1. I bought this pattern also this weekend. It will probably just sit in my collection for now. I think it will look much better on you than me anyway. I can’t wait to see what fabric you find. I’m sure you’re checking Ann’s site. ;o)

  2. Karla

    I fell into Butterick’s clutches with this one, too. It’s especially ridiculous for me, because I’ve already sewn and reviewed its sister pattern – Butterick 4976, so I think I spent my money on a pattern for short sleeves. Think of it as my personal economic stimulus plan.

  3. What a great pattern and it is similar to the Hot Patterns.

  4. I have this one too! Your title made me think of the movie Life! LOL

  5. I love the print binding on the black dress on the pattern envelope. It really makes the design lines pop!

  6. Ooh, I just got this one, and I’m really looking forward to using it! So I’ll be excited to see what happens with yours (have some projects with deadlines that need to be taken care of first, and anyway, I don’t have fabric for it yet.)