Donna Karan Spring ’08: Serious lust

I already have shirtdress on the brain so imagine my reaction upon seeing this shirtdress from Donna Karan at Saks Fifth Avenue. I am head over heels over this dress! Yeah, I know I’d have to be wear one of those uncomfortable convertible bras but it would be sooo worth it! In my ideal world, Hot Patterns would already be working on a pattern inspired by this dress. In the meantime, I’m going to be working on adapting a commercial pattern.

dkfront

dkback

Available at Saks.com for $2895.

8 Comments

Filed under Aren't you glad you sew?, Hot Patterns

8 responses to “Donna Karan Spring ’08: Serious lust

  1. That is a VERY cute dress! Can’t wait to see your version!

  2. Olivia

    Love that dress!! And I can’t believe that price at Saks!! OK – I haven’t shopped in the “couture” section, but still, that’s pretty excessive! You could whip that up in no time. I want to try it myself but if I made it for work, I would have to add a panel in the back (maybe contrasting), so it kind of defeats the look…

  3. Yes!! that is a very lust-worthy dress!

  4. I got that email this morning and that dress is sooooo fabulous! I feel in love with the back.

  5. I just got a shirtdress pattern 2 days ago. I look forward to seeing how you make dress. Its very lust-worthy.

  6. and, it’s a wrap on the skirt… sort of reminds me of the tag line for a certain out of date haircut – “business up front, party in the back”. Would love to see what you do with it.

  7. Hello, I just love this dress. Did you start to make it yourself? I would love to make one like this in bluemarine cotton. I am dress “addict” – and my goal is to make one every month :)Unfortunately, nights are too short. Waiting for your version of this dress…

  8. Nancy

    Did you see the posting over at Sigrid’s blog about the Bottega Veneta dress in the May issue of KNipmode? It is very similar and I think that it is still available on ebay.