Presents for moi!

I just LOVE getting packages in the mail so I was very excited when the postman brought me a box from Hot Patterns this week! In it, of course, were my two purse patterns and a beautiful cotton/lycra from HP’s Ebay store (link in previous post). Those of you who know me know that I am always on the lookout for fabulous quality knits – this one is really beautiful! It is so soft and the print and colors are beautiful. I would generally expect to pay $18/yd for a cotton/lycra of this quality so this one, at $12.45/yd was a real bargain. Since the print is so pretty, I think I’ll just make a very simple scoop-neck top with elbow-length sleeves.

HPfabric

My friends know that I generally steer clear of florals, preferring abstract designs instead. On someone my age, an inappropriate or incorrectly used floral can be either matronly or juvenile so I generally use them with caution. I was attracted to the stylized flowers and open spaces in this print. It definitely does not look little-girly or old-ladyish!

7 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Hot Patterns

7 responses to “Presents for moi!

  1. Summerset

    I’m with you on the florals! I like this one, too, for the roses and the abstractness of them. I’m sure you’ll make it into something wonderful!

  2. That is a really pretty fabric. I am loving florals at the moment and this one is so sweet.

  3. Marty

    It is such a pretty print. I can picture a lovely mock-wrap dress out of this lovely print. It looks very much like spring.

  4. oooh this one is gorgeous and I second Summersets guess, that you’ll be making something gorgeous out of it!

  5. Wow, I really love this fabric. So feminine

  6. I avoid florals (most prints, actually). As a larger woman I find that patterns of all kinds give me more a Mrs. Roper and/or (Drew Carey’s) Mimi look – not something to which I aspire. That said, that particular print is rather fetching, isn’t it? I think I’d like it as a shell or cami.

  7. You inspired me to “take a chance” on a print I wouldn’t usually order…it came in and is great! The fabric is a doubled, not double knit in the classic sense, picot jersey with tiny flowery dots against a grey background on one side and grey-green and off white tiny stripes on the other side. Very cool possibilities! :)