Back to the Drawing Board

I have been absolutely DYING to get back into my sewing room for soooo many months! So, yesterday I found myself with a couple of free hours and ran to my sewing room to see what I could whip up. Ordinarily, this would be no problem as I’d pull out a TNT pattern and get going but, since I’ve lost quite a bit of weight, my old TNTs no longer fit. Then I remembered that I’d retraced Kwik-Sew 3378 a couple of months ago and set about finding it.

This pattern is so darn quick and easy to make that I had enough time to embellish the fabric (a fantabulous rayon/lycra from Gorgeous Fabrics) with the silver Blomster transfer from Shop Onion and some hot fix crystals.

I used a commercial heat press set at 300F to apply my transfers but they work just as well with a domestic iron set to just above wool (I believe a wool setting is equal to 290F). I used a Kandi Kane from Sue’s Sparklers to apply the crystals (also from Sue’s) – it’s great fun!

kw3378blomster

blomsterdetail

I added a little unexpected detail at the back:

ks3378back

Unfortunately, I was not at all happy with the fit of this size (S) and had to take in the sleeves and midriff areas quite a bit. The bust fits fine. So, the next step is to test out the XS with a full bust adjustment. Hopefully, that will do the trick! Then I need to set some larger blocks of time aside to fit some more patterns because, really, how many twist tops does a girl need?

If any of you received the last Hot Patterns newsletter you can imagine that I felt like Trudy had read my mind when she wrote it. It’s so exciting to get back into shape but such a bummer to have to trash all those perfectly fitted patterns!

19 Comments

Filed under Embellishments, Kwik-Sew, Onion Patterns

19 responses to “Back to the Drawing Board

  1. I love it! Love the crystals (I have to find a place to get those!) and the colour. Now I want to sew again!

  2. Summerset

    Cute! I love the little motif on the lower back – interesting and unique touch.

  3. I love the back surprise! Why not look as good going as you did coming? Very stylish and this colour is great for you …

  4. Love it and may just have to copy! But just a suggestion, if the top fits in the shoulders and chest why try a smaller size and then have to alter? It would be easier to take in the side seams a bit more of the S. With the Marcy Tilton approach you sew the sleeves and side seams in one go at the end but before you do, you pin fit to your shape.

  5. Pretty, Gigi … Happy to see the sparklies!

  6. Sharon

    Love the top Gigi! We’ve missed seeing your blogs. I’m happy to hear you’ve been losing weight and I love the sparkles. Adds a lot of pizazz!

  7. Jennifer S.

    Such a gorgeous new top Gigi! I bet that it looks fantastic on you.

  8. Thank you all, you are so nice! Vicki, the top is too large through the upper chest and back as well. Only the full bust fits well so I need the smaller size. But thanks for the suggestion!

  9. Love the top Gigi and glad you had some time to sew. I think one of the reasons that I am not inspired to lose weight is because I would lose all of my TNTs – it is just too overwhelming to think about! *LOL* Hope you will get more time to spend in the sewing room again soon!

  10. Cherie

    Gigi, so good going on that weight thing – I’m still working on it! And the top is sooooo cute. Love the sparklies. I’m gonna do that, you’re an inspiration! And the “tail” sparklies, neat idea! :)

  11. Gigi, congratulations on getting back to the sewing room! It’s good to see you again. I love this top, and the back detail is PERFECT!

  12. Els

    Lovely sparkling top.

  13. Beautiful top, bummer that it doesn’t fit just right. I love the extra details you added – bravo!

  14. I love it! Beautiful details.

  15. Heather

    This top is ‘over the top’ beautiful. I love it!

  16. Glad you are “back in the saddle” again. I love seeing your work.

  17. I love the front – but I really love the *back*!

  18. Hi

    Very interesting information! Thanks!

    G’night

  19. I love this top and have made three for myself. I’ve also extended the pattern into a dress and made street and floor length versions.

    I don’t have a lot of time to sew and am delighted at the bang this style gives. I’d be surprised if I spent more than 45 minutes sewing any one of these together.