Yes, still……

I’m still swamped with work but am trying to post *something* every few days so that you don’t forget about me. :-)

Awhile ago, my friend Emma asked if I’d monogram 65 napkins for a friend’s dinner party. The easiest way to crank out such a large quantity was to put four napkins in a hoop as shown below. I used a 12×12″ but this would work equally well with smaller hoops. We hooped tearaway, drew a couple of lines down the center in each direction and stuck the napkins on with KK3000. I always use KK3000 with my either cutaway or tearaway as I absolutely detest sticky paper. Not only is it expensive, it doesn’t provide enough stability on it’s own. If you have to add a sheet of tearaway, what is the point?

If you look very, very closely, you can see a tiny placement dot on each napkin. We made a little corner template from paper to make marking a breeze. After sewing the first initial, I simply used my machine’s rotate feature to sew the rest. With this method, we were able to embroider 24 napkins with each hooping (my machine has 6 heads). This went very quickly – we started around 10:00 a.m. and were having lunch out a couple of hours later.

3 Comments

Filed under Embellishments

3 responses to “Yes, still……

  1. You’re a good friend! 65 embroidered napkins in a few hours! I’m so impressed.

  2. Ohhhh, so brilliant! Wish I had known how to do this a few years ago when I had 89 hankerchiefs to monogram. It took 3 days, but I have only one head and had to make the hankerchiefs first. I’m going to “remember” this one, Gigi!!!

  3. Hi Gigi,

    We were actually talking about you (and about other readers/commentors we like) last night. We had some friends over to watch the PR episode, and we were telling them to check out your site and take a look at all the beautiful things you make. Those napkins are gorgeous. WOW, we’re so impressed.